Get away from the hustle and bustle of today's modern world and lose yourself amongst the solitude and tranquility of Gunn's Camp in the Hollyford Valley - a quirky, unique “old school” holiday experience!
The camp's collection of buildings began life in 1938 as the Public Works Department camp, Hollyford Camp, built to accommodate the small workforce of men that had been tasked with constructing a road through the Hollyford Valley. Work on the road was cut short by the outbreak of the Second World War and as a result the camp was abandoned until 1952 when it was purchased from the government by local farmer, David Gunn. Thus it began its new life as accommodation for those walking the Hollyford Track and other holiday-makers. Following David’s death in 1956, the operation was taken over by his son Murray. With the exception of the new kitchen facilities, lounge, and bunkrooms, little has changed to this day, with cabins, bunkrooms/backpackers, and open spaces for tents and campervans.
The camp is now run by a charitable trust, with the aim of keeping this unique piece of New Zealand history alive as a monument to the tough and hardy roadbuilders and their families, and to the legend Davey Gunn and his remarkable son Murray. Make sure to visit the camp's fantastic pioneer museum, free to those staying at the camp, while you're here. Learn about the origins of this historic camp, discover the stories of the difficulties the men building the roads and the Homer Tunnel faced, and get up close to many fascinating relics from the past.
The camp is also close to numerous well-kept day walks and the world-renowned local tramping tracks; Milford, Routeburn and Hollyford.
- Holiday Parks & Camping
- Culture & Heritage