Lighthouses of Southland

Nature - Waipapa Point
Anke Ruwette
Waipapa Point Lighthouse

New Zealand is home to 23 active lighthouses and 74 light beacons. All of the lighthouses are fully automated and controlled by a central control room in Wellington. Many of New Zealand's earliest lighthouses were designed by marine engineer James Balfour and his successor John Blackett. 

From Waipapa Point to Dog Island, find out more about some of the 15 lighthouses and beacons located in Southland.